Thursday, 8 February 2018

Uncanny by David Macinnis Gill Review!

34942836Title: Uncanny
Author: David Macinnis Gill
Pages: 352
Published: September 5th 2017 by Greenwillow Books
Source: From Edelweiss

Purchase: Amazon / Book Depository

In this chilling stand-alone novel by the acclaimed David Macinnis Gill, sixteen-year-old Willow Jane discovers she has the ability to stop time, and witnesses an ancient evil infiltrating her Boston neighborhood and hunting her friends and family. This original and sinister spin on gothic tradition will appeal to fans of Asylum, American Horror Story: Coven, and The Walking Dead.
You cannot wake the Shadowless when she sleeps within my bed. Kiss the lips of the Shadowless and the morning finds you dead.
When a bolt of lightning causes a Boston-wide blackout on her sixteenth birthday, Willow Jane doesn’t think anything of it—until she begins stopping time, until she comes face-to-face with her menacing familiar, until her sister disappears. But these aren’t the only strange and horrifying things to come out of the storm. An ancient witch named the Shadowless has awoken and escaped from her crypt, and she’s looking for revenge on Willow Jane’s family. 
From the critically acclaimed author of Black Hole Sun and Soul Enchilada, this eerie horror story lingers long after its bloody end, and is perfect for fans of Madeleine Roux, The Ghost Files, and anyone who likes things that go bump in the night.

My Thoughts:

Willow Janes life changes irrevocably on her 16th birthday. Strange things are happening to her and she has no idea why. Stopping, slowing down and even reversing time, becomes the norm for her and she needs to figure out why. It's not till a mysterious stranger arrives to give her some answers, that she finds out who she is. 

"You cannot wake the Shadowless when she sleeps within my bed. Kiss the lips of the Shadowless and the morning finds you dead."

There is one word that came to mind when reading this book, and that was weird! Not weird in a bad way, but weird in an intriguing way. This starts into the plot straight away, but it took a while for my mind to figure out what is happening. And I liked that fact!! I liked that the book took a while to figure out because once I started to understand, I loved it! There's a lot to the plot and once it really got going, it was good. 

The characters weren't as fleshed out as I would have liked. Willow was ok, though I wanted her to be more proactive in the end! The mysterious stranger didn't really have too much of a role it seemed. I felt that he could have played a much more important and necessary role. Also, if Willow or any of her friends said "wicked" once more, I was going to scream!! Way too many "wicked" was used when they weren't needed!

In all, a good read once you can get into it. I will have to check out more from this author! 





No comments:

Post a Comment

 
Blog Design by Imagination Designs
Graphic by Giftseasonstore