Tuesday 11 April 2017

Audiobook Review: Turning Point by Bobby Akart!

    Turning Point: A Post-Apocalyptic EMP Survival Fiction Series Audiobook
  • Written by: Bobby Akart
  • Narrated by: Kevin Pierce
  • Length: 5 hrs and 24 mins 
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release Date:10-20-16
  • Publisher: Bobby Akart Inc.
  • Ya' lives by the sun, ya' dies by the sun.Life is always at a turning point...when faced with a certain death...would you be willing to seize the moment...and do what it takes to survive?Know this. You'll never know where the bend in the road might take you.The new dystopian, post-apocalyptic fiction series from author Bobby Akart (The Boston Brahmin series and the Prepping for Tomorrow series) has been hailed as a masterpiece of prepper fiction. Prepare to learn, as well as be entertained as The Blackout Series continues with Turning Point.In book one of this new post-apocalyptic survival fiction series, 36 Hours, the listener was provided a glimpse into the rapid decline of society once word of the catastrophic solar flare racing towards Earth began to spread.Book two, Zero Hour, thrust our character into the perils of a post-apocalyptic world. At Zero Hour, an EMP caused by a massive solar flare left America in darkness. The Ryman family, who weren't preppers, applied common sense, logic, and a will to survive to their decision-making as they faced their death, their neighbors, and the depravity of man.Now, in Turning Point, the characters face a life altering decision - should we stay or should we go? The oldest and strongest emotion in man is fear, and the strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown. Will Americans flee the urban centers, the proverbial golden hordes, for the countryside? Will it be safer than the cities? Turning Point will lead the Ryman family into a complex, inexplicable world where danger lurks around every bend.Note: This book does not contain strong language. It is intended to entertain and inform audiences of all ages, including teen and young adults.

My Thoughts:

One thing I love about this series is that, despite each book being fairly short, they pack a punch! Each of them feel like they are episodes into the Ryman family's life and are so fast paced and engaging that you absolutely fly through them. 

This one sees the Ryman family leave their home and journey to their friends ranch a few miles away. What would have been an easy and fast trip normally, takes them days. During that time, they realise that life is 100% different than it used to be. Humanity has changed, and whether it's for the better or worse, well, they find out during the trip. 

This book was incredibly fast paced. It seemed like every bend the family took, their was another surprise around it. I was literally on the edge of my seat the whole way through!! The family has been through so much already and now they are tested even more. It's definitely a case of man up. 

It's hard to say too much about this one because so much happens, and I could spoil something, so all I'll say is that it's incredibly well written and thought out, the plot is fast paced and grabs you from the start and the characters are all well developed and feel real. You can't help but root for them and feel for them. This author has created a world that makes you think and characters that make you feel, what could be better than that?? 

In all, an exciting addition to an amazing series. It's ends on quite a cliff hanger but only makes you more excited for the next one!! Brilliant series and one I can't recommend enough!!! 

Kevin Pierce is the voice of Colton and really brings him across well. He knows how to tell a story like this and how to perform it well. I always enjoy his narration and look forward to more. 

I was voluntarily provided this free copy by the author, narrator, or publisher. This in no way affected nor influenced my thoughts.


No comments:

Post a Comment