Monday, 14 March 2016

Limerence by Charlotte McConaghy Blog Tour and Giveaway!


Limerence_Banner1

Welcome to my tour stop for the new adult science fiction romance Limerence by Charlotte McConaghy. Limerence is the third book in The Cure Series. The first two books, Fury and Melancholy, are also featured in the tour and for my stop I'm reviewing book 1, Fury. The tour runs March 14-25 with reviews only. Check out the tour page for the full schedule.

About the Books:

Fury CoverFury

When emotions are erased from the world, creating a civilization of mindless drones, only those with fury can survive.
On the same day each year Josephine Luquet wakes naked, shivering and covered in blood that is not her own. Under the cold gaze of the blood moon she is someone else entirely, but when dawn breaks her memories vanish and she is left with only an icy horror, a burning fury. Amid a sea of 'drones', she alone hasn’t been cured. 
Then she meets Luke. He isn’t like the other drones. With secrets behind his eyes, he is the only one determined to help Josephine discover the truth before the next blood moon rises.
But time is running out. Is Luke willing to risk his life to be near her? Does he truly understand what violence she is capable of?
Raw and full of passion, Fury is a story of love in a dystopian world, and how much we are willing to forgive in the struggle to remember our humanity.

Goodreads | Amazon

My Thoughts:

The blurb perfectly describes the story so let's get straight to my thoughts, that's if I can make sense of them!!

I finished this an immediately wanted the next book in the series, which, to me anyway, marks a great book. On finishing as well, I had so many emotions running through me, which I thought ironic, since the book deals with emotions being eradicated :) One thing about the blurb though, is that it says that emotions have been erased when really it's only anger that has been, from what I got from the story anyway. I also found myself confused at times because if anger was the only thing removed, then why at times did the author make it out that nearly every emotion was removed? A few times it says that only anger is removed with them thinking of removing sadness, yet it seemed that the author portrayed the drones as mindless, yet the drones could feel glee at hurting people, they were often times cruel and leering but how can they be if they are mindless drones?? I felt like this part could of been a little clearer! Still, it's only a minor niggle and didn't take too much from the overall feel of the story. 

Josephine was a flawed but brilliant character. Her life has been beyond hard! She hasn't been cured so feels everything so much more than the "drones". Plus one every blood moon, she becomes something else, she becomes something more and she has killed!! She wakes the next day with vague feelings more than memories of death, of blood and of herself reveling in it. She becomes a loner, intent on ending herself soon rather than killing again. That is until Luke! Luke changes her and gives her something to live for. Josi is strong willed, brave, intelligent, furious, loving and longing to be normal, not a drone but not the way she is now. 

Luke is Josi saviour. He is a Grey, one of only 3. He is the elite and brilliant at what he does, so when he is given an assignment to observe a target, he thinks nothing of it. It's beneath him but because he is in trouble at work, he does it grudgingly. What he sees though, is a captivating girl whom he can't help but be drawn to. What can I say about Luke other than yum and he rocks!!! Lol. 

The word the author created is unique, brutal, harsh yet also makes you realise that your emotions are important, they make you who you are! Every emotion matters and the result of losing one can be devastating. I loved the idea behind it, I loved the idea of the Bloods, I loved the idea of the rebels and furies, though both don't get much screen time so I'm hoping we learn more in future books. 

In all, this was an amazing read. Despite the minor problems, I still thoroughly enjoyed this and can highly recommend, only thing is, I need the next one now!!!



***
Melancholy
mel_om
Here in the west they know a lot about hope. They know how to ration it just as they do with food and water.
Josephine is at last free of the blood moon. But in a desperate rush to find help for a comatose Luke, she discovers the strange and dangerous world of the resistance, and it is unlike any world Josi has known.
In the west they believe in fury – they cultivate and encourage it. The unruly people of the resistance know that to survive means to fight. But can they fight the inevitable cure for sadness that rushes steadily closer?
In the action-packed sequel to Fury, everything Josi believes about herself will be challenged. Haunted by atrocities and betrayals, she must find the strength to trust again, and decide how far she is willing to go to fight the inevitable. 
At times both brutal and sweet, Melancholy is the story of second chances and finding love in a ruined world.
Limerence-Omnibus_DEV03Limerence
No injection can cure love. Only life can do that.
Deep in the darkest tunnels hide the last of the resistance fighters. Hunted by the savage Furies and the ruthless Bloods, they live in constant peril. The only means of survival is to seek strength in family and find courage in love. So what happens when love is cured, scoured away, leaving death in its place?
In the final battle for freedom, there are no lines that won't be crossed. And for Josi this means becoming the creature she fears most of all: the girl with a blood moon heart.
The gripping conclusion to the dystopian trilogy The Cure, Limerence is a love story for the monsters within.
Perfect for fans of Pierce Brown, Laini Taylor and Maggie Stiefvater.

***

About the Author:

copyrighted
Charlotte has been writing from a young age, and has published several novels including the science-fiction series The Cure and the romantic fantasy series The Chronicles of Kaya. She studied a Masters of Screenwriting at the Australian Film, Television and Radio School, and is the author of the Australian Writer's Guild award-winning screenplay Fury – adapted from her novel of the same name. She lives in Sydney, writing novels and working on both film and television projects, as well as an upcoming graphic novel Skin

Connect with the author:

 Website | Facebook | Twitter

***

GIVEAWAY:

One winner will receive digital copies of Fury, Melancholy and Limerence 
Open Worldwide
Ends March 30
Giveaway is provided by the publisher and hosts are not responsible. Must be 13 or older to enter and have parental permission if under 17. Void where prohibited by law. No purchase necessary to win.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This event was organized by CBB Book Promotions.


10 comments:

 
Imagination Designs
Images from the Meadow of Dreams kit by Irene Alexeeva